Brooklyn-based producer Loveskills creates a unique style of music that has proven to be quite difficult to pin down, blending together elements of electronica infused R&B with pop sensibilities and occasional hints of hip hop and dubstep. His 2013 release, the aptly titled Multiplicity, was described as everything from “a modern day pop furore” to “a diverse extra-sensory experience” to “a fusion of synth, bass, and subtle vocals” to “an oddly compelling hybrid of synth-pop and hip hop” and thankfully, it all breaks down to something “relentlessly accessible and stupefyingly catchy.”

Back with his newest collection of songs, laced with influences of both R&B and the trap or EDM you’d hear blasting from car stereos in Brooklyn, Loveskills has crafted another appropriately titled EP Pure which was created with just that sentiment in mind. Focusing on the heart of the song, rather than relying on computers and studio production during the writing process, Loveskills (aka Richard Spitzer) drafted all the melodies, chords, and lyrics for the EP with a focus on how it felt to sing and perform the songs on the piano before turning to electronics.

In such a way, Pure is a conceptual album, maintaining an unadulterated approach to songwriting and production. Spitzer recounts of his writing process: “I kept my ears away from new music even if it sounded amazing and especially if it was closely related genre-wise. Even if I liked what I heard, I would keep everything away in order to give my own music space to be itself.”

Pure is slated for release on November 4, 2014 via Brooklyn label No Shame (Black Taxi, Pompeya, Felix da Housecat). The six-song EP kicks off with a cover of Smashing Pumpkins’ “Luna” and proceeds with five pure, undiluted, entirely blissful tracks of the classic Loveskills sound. 

Official Website

Loveskills – Pure Remixed (EP)
Release date: March 27th, 2015

1. Chanel (EQ Why Remix)
2. Point of View (Mike Simonetti Remix)
3. Pure Crystal (Traxman’s Tekk DJ’z Remix)
4. Chanel (Cru the Dynamic Remix)
5. Fine Lines (ZSonic Remix)
6. Pure Crystal (Mike Irish Remix)

Order here:


Loveskills – Pure (EP)
Release date: November 4th, 2014

1. Luna
2. White Diamonds
3. Pure Crystal
4. Chanel
5. Fine Lines
6. Point Of View

Order here:


Loveskills – Multiplicity (EP)
Release date: February 14th, 2013

1. Cover Me
2. Flash in the Dark
3. Ex-Files
4. Genorate (ft. Phaze Future)
5. We Say Love
6. Turbulence

Order here:


Loveskills – Reskilled (EP)
Release date: July 28th, 2013


1. Cover Me (Live Mix)
2. Loveskills x Chordashian (Ex-Files / Illusion Mashup)
3. Cover Me (Cru The Dynamic Remix)
4. Lovedrums (Natasha Fox Remix)

Download FREE here.